Masala moments

In an effort to put some structure to this blog, I’ve put down some topics I’ve been thinking to write about on paper. Hell, I’ve even thought of what titles my blog categories should have. This has been my second decent post to date and this involves neither of the topics I’ve planned on writing. Perhaps structure and intense planning isn’t just how I roll.

Anyway, I remember how I was so dazed out from the homily of the first Friday mass last week. Though the topic was all about transfiguration and how God proved His greatness to his disciples, my mind was off somewhere. I forgot what made me think about this word in particular, but anyway, my thoughts were wrapped up in the word “news”.

Have you ever tried uttering a word at least five times, or staring at it for such a long time that you begin to doubt its spelling, meaning, or even its existence? Well, I guess this was what happened when I pondered over this word throughout the sermon. I’m the type of person who’s into new stuff, especially pop culture. If I were a web browser, I’d be just totally hypnotized over RSS feeds.

Anyway, so I was thinking about news. How do you define it? What constitutes it? My broadcast communications professor back in college opened our class to this provoking thought. Going back to that moment, I guess she never really did define what it was. She just presented a myriad of points of view from different sources on how “news” is defined. Yes, it’s something new, hence the word “new-s”. And yes, it has to be socially relevant, whether in your circle, immediate milieu, or even on a global scale.

Perhaps, an issue, to be considered news, is also a matter of popularity. This brings us back to the definition of pop, as in pop-ularity: to what degree of popularity should something be for it to be considered popular and hence, news?

Breaking down the meaning of popularity, it is a factor of broadness of reach, as well as an issue’s individual impact to those reached. This gets me wondering: how does Yahoo decide on which articles to feature in its homepage? How does it determine the likelihood of me opening a particular link because a particular topic is of interest to me? Alas, the intricacies of IP tracking and complex algorithms.

Anyway, just when the homily was wrapping up, the priest saw me almost dozing off. I could’ve sworn he was staring at me for a while. This was motivation enough for me to listen to the the remaining part of the ceremony. When I queued up to receive the holy communion, he looked me in the eye for a considerable amount of time, and gave me 3 pieces of the host. Putting them in my mouth, I could barely keep them inside since the pieces were huge. I had to chew them rigorously. He must have probably thought that a demon was inside me and made me want to dose off during homily and his efforts to counteract it was perhaps to increase the dosage of what each Catholic would typically get when they line up to get the body of Christ.

4 thoughts on “Masala moments

Add yours

  1. interesting. i didn’t know the number of hosts per person varies. and apparently on the grounds of the priest’s advisement on how uncatholic you seem to be during that specific mass. 😕

    to answer: how does Yahoo decide on which articles to feature in its homepage? in my opinion, like how we package our products, it depends on the demand of the customer – could be a need or want. of course, ultimately, we want to sell. and it is only if we deliver good products that we establish and grow our customer base. i think Yahoo only features well written articles that relate to their core reader base. there is this online mechanism that tallies hits per site. its staff might be filtering from the daily top hits. 😕

    just to share, i also think published articles, hence what is included on the news, should be one of an issue, a concern of the public. yes, i think it is generally things of public relevance/interest that get people read. and now i’m thinking.. how do showbiz stuff get into the front page.. ah! because they compose never ending stories, aside from the fact it’s a discrete way of imposing something to be a public issue. pathetic. 😦

    1. On yahoo articles, yeah, although I think featured articles, or at least the first 4 that are immediately visible in the gallery, also depend on specific user preferences in terms of what this particular user has read in the past (at least, those that were linked from the yahoo landing page). Perhaps they put cookies to monitor the activity of your IP? Though I don’t really know if they actually do that.

      On news, yes, pathetic as it is, these are issues that are easily intelligible by the masses than, say, globalization. Haha.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑