Of Theory and Practice

I’ve always been comfortable with spewing shiznit-loads of green jokes or green thoughts to close friends. When they taunt me about it, my standard template of a backlash would always be as follows:  No worries, it’s all theory.

Now, let us digress to this mantra I learned during my leadership course in college: A principle is not a principle unless it costs you something. I will never forget this line from Jim Lafferty, then general manager of Proctor and Gamble Philippines. How could I? If any of his students were to forget, he’d promised to give us a failing mark in the course. Rad.

Ahhh, the talk of principles. What are yours? I’ve recently come to ponder on what mine are – at least some of them. What primarily pervades my thoughts as of the moment are:

  1. I do not want to promote bad habits.
  2. I give value to loyalty.

Allow me to explain. I do not have a disdain for people who have bad habits. I do not, or at least make a concerted effort not to, judge people with bad habits. I want to be the person who embodies the phrase “live and let live”. It’s just that I don’t want to end up actually promoting something that I think is bad or unhealthy for a person’s life.

I cringe every time I hear a story about a person whose life has become significantly worse off primarily because of excessively indulging in such controversial habits. Somehow, in particular circumstances, I feel that I am partly to blame.

On the other hand, does it pay to be loyal? My superficial answer is yes. Staying in one school from nursery all the way to senior year got me recognition for loyalty. On a more serious note, I’d like to believe that I’ve lived my life under this notion. I give and receive loyalty to and from friends and family. I barely have crushes, and when I do, they last for years. Whenever I see them around, I still get butterflies. Okay, so it sounds pathetic. I guess this is just how I am configured. And no, this is not what this blog is all about. At all.

Some events just take us by surprise. It suddenly bites us in the arse and compels us to validate what our principles in life really are. In a short span of time, we are expected to respond, to come up with decisions. These decisions then reflect what our principles really are – what our priorities are.

At this very moment, I feel happy. I’d like to believe that I am happy . I feel a newfound sense of pride and self-fulfillment. Was it right to make up my mind over something in a matter of minutes? Or should I have gathered as much information first? Should I have consulted others first? There are simply some things that are too sensitive to talk to a lot of people about. So, for now at least, I’m going to stick with the persuasion that it was bad-ass to have made a decision of weight on the spot.

Will I ever look back and regret that decision? Perhaps. I hope not. Perhaps, in the next few days, I will keep on pondering over the cost I’ve incurred that came along with my decision. Time will tell. Hey, I am still 21 after all (Yes, I am taking advantage of the few days that I have to claim this fact). And as a Garbage song goes,

She gave you everything she had
But she was young and dumb
She’d just turned twenty-one

There goes my pathetic reference of an excuse. Haha.

Okay, so this post is full of clichés. Vague would be the operative word to describe this entry. I hope you can bear with this. Just needed an outlet to vent all these thoughts and emotions. Alas, I am grateful to the intarweb for this contraption called blogging.

2 thoughts on “Of Theory and Practice

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑