Mantra of the Moment

Before anything else, let me just share that my Sociology 10 class literally changed my views in life… but this isn’t what this blog is about. I just remember how my prof in that subject (who happens to be one of my girl crushes until this very day) asked us, after introducing ourselves, to pick one of the two clichés that best describes how we are as a person:

  • Patience is a virtue
  • Time is gold

Not thinking too much about it, and being a greenhorn back in college, all timid and shy, I simply stated my name and degree, and uttered, “patience is a virtue”.

Now it hits me. We get to know more about who people really are in situations where they don’t think too much. Take drunk people, for example. It’s when people are drunk that they reveal their innermost sentiments. In the same token (or maybe I’m just convincing you that this is a similar situation), I found myself caught off guard as I was not given ample time to reflect on which phrase best described who I was. In retrospect, I think I did give the honest answer. I’d still pick the same overused adage all over again.

As much as the circumstances of life put an impounding pressure on me, in the form of peers, media and even my immediate environment, I’d still like to believe that there is no rush. Okay, so I refuse to type out what this entry really is about. I don’t want to sound corny and mushy. But I’m writing about it anyway. Haha.

I’m on my first installment of How I met Your Mother. Still halfway through the season, I guess I can totally relate most to this Ted guy. And, no, it’s not that I’m into girls or that I’m already looking to get married (God forbid), it’s more of how his points of view are so spot on. Quality over quantity. Substance over form. Alright, so this description sounds borderline gay. But he totally makes sense.

In this episode where the gang went to this exclusive club in town, Ted said something that really stuck to me.

Ted: Are you crazy? You think I like going to those clubs? I’d so much rather go to your fruity little wine tasting.
Lily: [waking up] Oh, my God, I’m gonna barf! Where’s my purse! Where’s my purse! I -… No, I’m okay.
[goes back to sleep]
Ted: The problem is you can’t do any of that couples stuff unless you have someone to do it with! And the only way I’m gonna find that someone is by going out and doing stupid singles stuff with Barney!
Barney: [turns around] What?
Ted: But, man, when I find her, we’re gonna have some bad-ass wine tastings.

Ahhh, how he overthinks in the most adorable way.

So I guess, for now, I’m bent on believing that it comes when it comes. Things are better that way, I guess. It’s hard to find that ideal person in a bar or club, unless you’re into the short-term, horny type. Unless, by the unlikely odds that serendipity is with you, that spontaneous materialization of someone  in your head actually goes to the place where you and your friends go to have some fun once in a while, because, well, it so happened that he and his friends also wanted, in this rare occasion, to go out and have some fun too.

Alas, this song by Michael Buble embodies my mantra of the moment. Of course, nothing in life is ever permanent. We’ll see. 😀

I Might Have To Wait
I’ll Never Give Up
I Guess It’s Half Timing
And The Other Half’s Luck
Wherever You Are
Whenever It’s Right
You Come Out Of Nowhere And Into My Life

7 thoughts on “Mantra of the Moment

  1. How I Met your mother is a great show! I’ve just finished season 4 and it doesn’t feel repetitive like some other shows out there.
    Ted developed his character a lot since first season. He’s a lot more cool now, I think… guess patience is a virtue 😉

    Like

  2. Goldy, i like this entry of yours. 🙂 I like how you were able to relate it to Ted’s character in How I Met Your Mother. 🙂 Sabi nila medyo boring ang character ni Ted, but if you’ll think about it, yung personality niya kailangan to bring emphasis sa personality ng ibang characters ng series. haha! Plus, How I Met Your Mother is fun to watch. Kahit ulit ulitin mo ung mga episodes, it will always make you laugh. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

