Vomiting Blood

Okay, so before I get into anything productive, I just need to post and write and express. God knows I need this to function further. Perhaps it’s true what they say that when you have more on your plate, you’re more compelled to do other things to vent out, diversify and balance your life.  On that note, I shall then resolve to make “Work Hard, Party Harder” my mantra for this year. Rawr.

It is during these stressful moments that you realize and cherish the things that keep you sane. Writing, for example, has that therapeutic effect on me. Then comes the epiphany of the friendships that you have, your awesome, bad-ass support group that pushes you to be your best self still, despite challenging times.

In other, unrelated news, Valentine’s day is just around the corner. For us defensive singles, we have this article to get us by – that’s step 1. Step 2 is, after reading this, we like the post of a Facebook friend whose status goes something like this:

Unless it’s mad, passionate, extraordinary love, it’s a waste of your time. There are too many mediocre things in life. Love shouldn’t be one of them.

Step 3 is, you read another one of your Facebook friend’s status that goes like this:

If I’m going to choose love over money, I’ll choose love because it comes with contentment.

Then you may end up liking it out of impulse until you read a comment on the post rebutting the thesis of the status which goes like this:

..But love lets you down, and…[from the words of Lady Gaga], your career doesn’t wake up one day and suddenly decide it’s gonna leave you.

Then step 4 is when you go ahead and like this comment deliberately out of logical purposes. And then you sit back and think, “Why choose one over the other when you can have both?”.  Bam, your thought process has come full circle and you may now move on to the more sensible matters that pervade life.

But I won’t veer away from talks of love and romance just yet. An amusing thing happened earlier when a guy at work was asking me for advice on how to ask a girl out. Now, I figure I must be starting to look like a guy, but not just any guy. Am I starting to look like a man’s man? Tell me. Concur and I will give you my hugs and kisses. It’s a big high-five on the ego, if you ask me. But wait, not veering away still. So I gave this guy some advice anyway given my purely theoretical background on the topic and encouraged him to be straightforward. Fortune favors the bold! Eyes on the prize! Whether it be at work where you want to reach a revenue target, or in romance where you want to get the guy/girl you want, just go ahead and do your thing. Being cryptic is so circa 19th century (footnote: we now live in the 21st). As one of my bosses aptly puts it, “Straightforwardness is the key to getting laid”. And yes, I have these kinds of people for colleagues. I’m lucky, I know.

Moving on to an entirely different topic (spell pop culture), I was browsing through my Twitter timeline when I unfortunately read Mo twister’s tweet, outing who Gossip Girl actually is. Just not so sure about the verity of his claim but if it were true, damn, is he a spoiler. So to make things better (or arguably worse), I had to retweet and share said information on my social media pages. Just paying it forward. Now, I feel better. Ahhhhh.

Okay, enough. I’m out. I still need to write an article (yes, people, I occasionally make a living out of writing) and submit a myriad of different documents to different people. Am I having a hard time juggling all of this? Sure. I feel like I’m about to vomit blood. Do I regret getting myself into this? No. This is a prerequisite to growth. In my head, it’s like Milan Kundera is saying, “Here’s being ‘pinned to the ground’ for you, b*tch” and I just look at him, smirk, and say, “Bring it on. Bring it f*cking on.”

And that, my friends, is positivity for you. Bam!

 

Leave a Reply

