Challenge. Accepted.

 

Time, as much as I’d like it to be otherwise, is finite. Work is consuming a lot of it, in all honesty. I find fulfillment in adding value to an organization in reaching its objectives. It is also true that I am more than my work. I love to travel. I love to hang out with friends. I love to learn new things. I also love to drown in the scoop I get from social networking sites. This, too, consumes a lot of my time.

My sister got mesmerized by her Facebook news feed when most of the posts came from me. She ended up posting a status update to ask her network whether they could survive without accessing Facebook for a full week. I nonchalantly thought, “no way”. But then, coming from this music festival I just went to, this rapper accompanying the tunes of Afrika Bambaataa said this in one of his preludes: Instead of going on Facebook too often, why don’t you face the book? Why don’t you go out into the world and learn?

Good point. No rebuttals on my end.

On that note, I resolve to do the following starting now:

  • No Facebook and Twitter for 1 full week. This will test whether time consumption outweighs information gathered from said platforms – or not.
  • Be out of the office before 9PM. This is in alignment with work-life balance pursuits. I want to go home and catch all my nephews awake, be able to give them pasalubong and bond with them.
  • No Gimmicks and hang-outs for 1 full week. This will test whether my nights out really do make me better off, as I’ve always thought they did – or not.
  • Spend at least 1 hour daily learning code. Yes, I’ve always wanted to do this. The online resources for this are so rich! No more excuses at this point. I will have to make time for me to learn.
  • Spend at least 1 hour daily reviewing Francais. I want to make it in time for the June run of AF classes. I also want to be assessed a level higher than the previous one I took. Again, I need to make time for this.
  • Jog weekly. Health is wealth. I’m all for whatever’s good for my heart, literally and figuratively speaking. πŸ˜‰

So there, funny how I feel like I’m composing an email when all I’m doing is declaring personal resolutions to the blogosphere. I guess this act has merit in that failure to meet these points will backlash at me by bringing me shame. Haha.

As Sarah Meier aptly pointed out earlier, the 1st Manila Music Festival happened and I was part of it. People had dreamt it would happen way back but it remained a dream until some brave souls got off their asses and executed that dream. I therefore resolve to execute. Thank you. Bow.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑