Dubstep Discoveries

image

Thank you Universe for giving me this night. Been a while since I’ve been buzzed, been a while since I’ve drowned in great music.

A good friend once said that we live in circles. A poet once said that lonely isΒ  freedom that breathes easy and weightless and lonely is healing if you make it. This night is a testament that life is tolerable, nay, great even when your lonely – but not alone. Even though it seems to have been ages since seeing good friends, when you’re all there and present in the moment, the gap is forgotten and it feels like the last time you met up with them was yesterday.

Life is full of pleasant surprises. Others, horrid but let’s focus on the pleasant.

image

If there is something you want that’s not staring at you in the face upfront, ask. This applies to food orders in Fred’s Cubao X, and no, Pluto, this place is not called Happy Bread. Get your direction instructions straight. Haha! Mwah! and perhaps in life as well. Straightforwardness, brazenness are our tickets to score.

I love this place. This is the mecca of cheap alcohol, great music and an ecclectic crowd in my now.

I’ve always had an admiration for the offbeat, for those who don’t mind sticking out like a sore thumb, for those who challenge the status-quo, for those who respect the concept of individuality. Emancipation from the hard-wired human tendency to judge is the constant pursuit.

I like it when I learn something new in conversations I have with people. Braingasm, it should be called. I hear that Dubstep is a sub-genre of Reggae. It sure does sound more related to Techno and House rather than Reggae. I love how the Bass elements of this type of music seeps through my heart.

The set-up looked really unconventional. It was my 1st time to see a mobile DJ booth.

image

I don’t know why I even bothered to post this bad, incomprehensible photo. But that is the roof of the booth. The DJ is supposed to be inside it. The 1st DJ was playing hardcore Dubstep beats and it sounded so good that we felt compelled to go nearer. What a happy discovery it was to see an Amy Winehouse-looking girl scratching inside the booth. Represent!

The Rasta-ish guy who chanted along with the music was saying statements about how to stave off the policeman and the politician and that, if you’re a man, you love a woman. This, he said among a fairly respresented group of same-sex couples in the crowd. I could not help but chuckle.

He then went on to say that we were all rich. That wealth is beyond money. Word. Jah.

The next DJ was Japanese and was more in tune to his Reggae roots. A dude in dreads climbed up the booth and waved the Jamaican flag while dancing to the music. The night ended beautifully with a mix featuring that old song Kapayapaan.

If only workweeks started Tuesday. I’d have been going on Irie Sundays since time immemorial. Ahhhh, life. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

