A Paternal Dharma

Slowly but surely, says my dad.

This, he said, when I told him how I felt about things slowly falling into place.

To further demonstrate what he meant, he goes and shares of The Shotgun Theory. This, he expounds, is when we pull the trigger in speedy succession, spreading bullets everywhere, but yielding a low hit-to-bullet ratio. As a student of life, he says he’d rather be like a sniper, studying his target, being aware of the surroundings, before deciding to pull the trigger steadily for a precise hit.

No, there was no mention of any metaphorical Diazepam in tonight’s phone conversation with him.

Slowly but surely.
I love metaphors.

He further goes on to say that it’s like being in a freeway, with all the haste and speed in the surroundings, and allowing yourself to take in everything without feeling the need to keep up, or surpass the other elements in the freeway. This, he calls Visual Parallax. I do not know what that even means.

It is conventional to compete, he says. In a race, it is more frequent to see contenders finish the race first before helping out a competitor in any need of assistance than vice versa.

Wala nang silbi ang damo kung patay na ang baka.

image

A stern visage of my dad, staged of course, photographed by his then 4-year old nephew, Miguel

As our phone conversion nears its end, I go and conclude in gratitude, thanking him for giving a piece of his mind, for sharing his Dharma for the day. I told him that I was looking forward to the next.

My dad says, “Okay, I’ll let you know my second Dharma tomorrow. In case I don’t get in touch, you already know what the Dharma is: Silence is Golden.”

I am such a lucky daughter to have this being as my dad.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

