I Am Grateful

Today, I choose to focus on how considerate people have been and continue to be considerate.

I wake up in the morning with bananas and other vegan treats ready at the breakfast table. While my brother gobbles on his bacon, he is concerned and mindful, making sure I have something to eat.

I hop on over to yoga class, which happened to be a hot and bendy session at that. We do Prasarita Padottanasana III and it felt nice to have my teacher instinctively bend my hands further towards the ground for a deeper stretch. At pauses, our teacher reminded us to go be compassionate to our bodies, and to go back to our intentions, mine for today being kindness.

I go to one of my favorite restaurants for lunch, not so long ago when I used to eat meat, and I order a salad. Based on Foursquare, I read rants from vegetarians claiming that waiters could not understand the gist of removing certain ingredients in their templatized salad. Forewarned, I gave it a try. My first request for a Symphony Salad sans the eggs was unfortunately unavailable. Mr. Waiter tells me to try out the Mango Royale salad instead, but I told him I couldn’t take mayonnaise. I suggested he make it vinagrette based, to which he initially had apprehensions on, but eventually agreed to. Lo and behold, I get my vegan salad and shake for lunch, along with a smile from the waiter. He was amused at how it was possible to serve salad this way.

I hop on over to Katipunan for work, where I arrived too early. Deciding to kill time at Starbucks, ate barista and I collaborated to make my yummy abangers cooler happen: an iced-cocoa-soy drink. Look ma, no dairy!

And as 1:30PM approaches, I get giddy as I look forward to hearing out the pitches of the high school teams. They are all part of the 1st hackathon in our country, and I feel ecstatic about seeing the output coming from our ideation session yesterday. Can’t wait to see that optimism and drive being translated into actionable initiatives!

And so I sit and ponder about all these connections around me in pursuit of the good. Whether they were momentary or continuous, they are validations of the clichΓ© that no man is an island. We are more similar than we are different. We communicate so we understand, so we can have a greater capacity to be considerate to each other.

Happy Sunday!

Namaste.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

