What Dreams May Come

Grassroots community Technopreneur Bootcamp. Investor Meetup for portfolio founder. Press Brief. Awards night for bossings. Packing up for new spaces. Talking about solid teams. Reporting about globalization strategies. Sharing about La Prospective case studies. Talking on air to scale the opportunity of democratizing access of capital for commercializeable science and technology. This wraps up my major stuff for the week.

Now, I am giving myself the time to unwind and write before facing week 49 head-on. I was telling my classmate earlier how lutang this week has been, and how next week will continue to be, to which she shares the same sentiment. I tell her how I’ve lately been feeling more weight of owing so many things to so many people, that I’ve overlooked the virtue of being myself for myself. She ended up saying, “wow, that’s deep.”, to which we ended up just laughing it off – the lutang kind.

But seriously, as I prepare for my trip tomorrow, with the mission of highlighting the greatness of Filipino innovations and innovators among the people I will meet across the region, I will have to admit that I am getting the jitters. Not a lot of people will believe that I am an introvert, considering the kind of work I do, but I am. I simply keep being consistent at pushing myself outside my comfort zone, because I know all this is for a greater purpose, one that is well beyond my own.

This morning, my professor in strategic management and technology foresight challenged me in front of class. He told me that I am already in the thick of efforts to put PH science and technology forward, and that this needs to be sustained.

Several weeks ago, my bosses challenged me to think bigger, i.e. to dream bigger. Everyday is always a learning experience that allows for a bigger world view of matters. I am reminded of this coming fresh from doing reports on international prospective deployments, and the implementation drivers and methods of global strategy. This could not be more timely as I plan my roadmap for next year. On theory and practice, cheers!

So in spite of the stress, the discomfort , the frequent instances of being lutang, the breakouts, I am still honored and grateful for the opportunity to execute these things. I have never prayed for an easy life; rather, I would always pray for a meaningful one.

Much like supporting folks who are in it for the marathons and not the sprints, I’ll have to amplify my cheerleader skills to my best capacity (aha! so this was what those high school cheerleading stints were for! #ConnectingTheDots) for them. This is for myself AND for them.

My colleague would remind me that dreams that don’t scare me aren’t worth achieving. Perhaps he makes a good point. The path to technopreneurship is not easy, it’s a steep upclimb, and being in a role that supports them entails the same.

I remember a couple of years ago, in the thick of not seeing the deeper purpose of the things I was doing and taking up the most of my time, my fervent wish would be to do things that would enable others. It was one simple dream.

And now as I sit and type in front of my laptop, I realize I am living my dream. And this living dream is allowing me to dream bigger, dream brighter, for myself, more so for others.

We are all that we can be.
It is okay to be scared, so the fear can transform us to face bigger things.
I’ll do my best to raise the PH innovation flag high. *sweats*
PH S&T geek technopreneurs, I believe in you. I believe in us!

#CommunityDevelopment

Leave a Reply

