The Little Things

A continuation on rationalizing hard decisions. They say more weight lies in love, respect and commitment than grand gestures. So, here goes:

1. He involves me in important matters in his life – family activities, events, what-not.

2. He takes care of me when I’m sick. He battles through traffic just so he can check in on me periodically, in spite of his other responsibilities.

3. He checks in on me as the day starts and as the night concludes. I’ve grown into the habit of doing the same.

4. He sends and fetches me through and from airports when he can.

5. He makes an effort to make meals for me, or at least buy them, as he is a busy person. 10-hour normal work days, 24-hour days or more on shoot days.

6. He makes time for us in spite of his looming deliverables. It’s not as much time as I like, but I like him for his ambition and hardwork, and I need to respect that he needs to dedicate time in achieving his goals.

7. He’s grown to do silly things to relate with his silly girlfriend. Yes, selfies and baby-talk and other things most men cringe doing.

8. He surprises me not with girly things like flowers, but nifty, useful stuff. Too useful sometimes. I use the smartwatch, powerbank and bluetooth speaker he gave me everyday, the microwave on lazy days, and the oven on good days.

9. He makes time to be with me on important moments of my life. Grad school graduation, that awards night one time, I even remember I was with him when I was cramming and submitting my fellowship applications, when I was applying for my visa, when I was rushing to finish my grad paper. He’s been constantly supportive.

10. He’s been tolerant of my meanness. He does not deserve it. I tend to channel my craving for attention through acting out, when things are not done my way. I am mean. I am insecure. And he has been choosing to stay. I guess that is what love is.

So it’s my move to make after all. How can I be a better partner?

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑